Development Dean


Professor John Cookson

Professor Cookson has been appointed Development Dean of the School of Medicine

Professor Cookson, previously a consultant physician in general and respiratory medicine, joined the University in October 2017 as the Development Dean for the new School of Medicine.

Professor Cookson was previously Foundation Professor of Medical Education and Undergraduate Dean at Hull York Medical School. He was also involved in the establishment of the Medical School at Warwick and a new school in Botswana.

A graduate of Birmingham Medical School, Professor Cookson’s early career included a number of years as a lecturer and senior lecturer in medicine in Zimbabwe. This work was reflected in his MD Thesis on various aspects of asthma in the black population, showing, amongst other things, the seasonal nature of the problem and the links to disturbed immunology.

Professor Cookson’s main research interests in medical education have been in curriculum design and assessment.

Academic staff


Professor Kay Mohanna

Professor Mohanna is Professor of Healthcare Education and a partner in general practice. Previously Director of Postgraduate Medicine at Keele University School Medicine and Co-Director of the Keele Clinical Leadership Academy, she is interested in faculty development and fairness in assessment. 

Her doctoral work used conversation analysis to look at differential attainment in postgraduate exams. She is also the RCGP International Development Advisor for South Asia and adjunct Professor of Family Medicine at University of Health Sciences, Lahore, Pakistan.


Professor Lisa Jones

Professor Jones is Professor of Psychological Medicine. She leads the Mood Disorders Research Group and the UK Bipolar Disorder Research Network. Her primary research interests are the causes and triggers of bipolar disorder and related mood disorders, including postpartum psychosis. Professor Jones was previously in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Birmingham Medical School for 15 years. She was Year Tutor for Phase 1 of the MBChB and graduate-entry medicine programme, lead teacher for psychology in the medical programmes, and developed and led the successful Intercalated BMedSc in Psychological Medicine.


External advisors


Professor Derek Gallen

Professor Gallen was formally the Postgraduate Medical and Dental Dean for Wales. He was also the UK National Director of the Foundation Programme. Currently he is the President of the Association for the Study of Medical Education and previously the President of the Academy of Medical Educators.

Having qualified as a general practitioner he spent 15 years as a GP in Northamptonshire but became involved in medical education early as a GP trainer and then went on to be the GP Director for Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire and Berkshire. Professor Gallen’s research interests are in quality standards and quality improvement.


Professor Ian Jones

Chair of the TCMS-NHS Partnership Group

Professor Ian Jones was awarded a Fellowship and an Honorary Chair by the University in 2015. He works closely with Professor Lisa Jones and her group at Worcester through the Bipolar Disorder Research Network (BDRN) Collaboration they lead.

Ian Jones is Professor of Psychiatry and Honorary Consultant Perinatal Psychiatrist at Cardiff University. He is Director of the National Centre for Mental Health ( and with colleagues leads the Bipolar Disorder Research Network ( NCMH has recruited over 7,000 people with mental health problems in Wales and BDRN has involved over 6,500 people with bipolar disorder from around the UK in research. 

He leads the Cardiff University Psychiatry Service (CUPS) and a clinical service offering pre-conception counselling to women with severe mental illness. He is Director of BEP-C, a big lottery funded group psychoeducation programme for bipolar disorder. His research focuses on bipolar disorder and postpartum psychosis. He has authored or co-authored over 250 publications and book chapters. He has been awarded the Marcé Medal for his research on Postpartum Psychosis and was named Academic Psychiatrist of the Year at the RCPsych Awards 2013. In 2014 BEP-C was awarded the British Medical Journal (BMJ) award for innovation in medicine.