Skip to content
Menu

Meet our Health Experts

The Institute of Health and Society brings together a range of staff with a wealth of expertise drawn from health, social care, nursing, midwifery, psychology and other related backgrounds. The majority of staff have extensive work-based experience and are able to offer a 'real world' view to the educational experience.

Institute of Health & Society

Head of Institute

  • Robert Dudley
    Acting Head of Institute /Head of Department for Nursing and Midwifery
  • Lizzie Ludlow
    Senior Administrator: Nursing and Midwifery
  • Deborah Sabbato
    Senior Administrator: Department of Allied Health & Social Sciences

Associate Head of Quality

  • Acting Deputy Head of Institute/Associate Head: Quality & Student Experience
  • Deborah Sabbato        
    Senior Administrator to the Associate Head of Quality

Professors

Department of Allied Health & Social Sciences (AHASS)

AHASS Senior Management Team - Academic Group Leads           

  • Dr Kerry Gaskin
    Principal Lecturer in Advancing Clinical Practice/Academic Group Lead
  • Dr Janina Iwaszko
    Principal Lecturer -  Physician Associate MSc/Academic Group Lead
  • Lisa Mauro-Bracken    
    Senior Lecturer - Foundation Degrees/Academic Group Lead
  • Kate Thackeray
    Senior Lecturer - Youth and Community Studies/Academic Group Lead
  • Yvonne Thomas
    Principal Lecturer and Academic Group Lead for Allied Health Professions 

Other members of the AHASS Senior Management Team 

Advanced Clinical Practice/BSc (Hons) Health Sciences           

Foundation Degrees/BSc CAMHS Top Up

  • Joanne Augustus
    Course Leader / Senior Lecturer Foundation Degree in Mental Health
  • Naomi Blaikie
    Work Based Learning Tutor
  • Maddie Burton
    Course Leader and Senior Lecturer - Child & Adolescent Mental Health
  • Kathy Clarke
    Senior Lecturer
  • Anna Dodd
    University Tutor - Health & Social Care
  • Kam Everton   
    Work Based Learning Tutor
  • Kirsty Fraser
    Work Based Learning Tutor
  • Dawn Goodall
    Senior Lecturer - Foundation Degrees
  • Jennifer Hill
    Senior University Tutor / Course Leader Level 4 Foundation Degree
  • Daniel Howarth
    Sessional Lecturer
  • Denisse Levermore
    Senior Lecturer - Child and Adolescent Mental Health 
  • Erica Pavord
    Lecturer - Child and Adolescent Mental Health
  • Lisa Porter
    Course Leader - Health & Social Care
  • Maggie Reeves
    Sessional Lecturer
  • Dr Clare Smith           
    Sessional Lecturer
  • Dr Jay Vickers     
    University Tutor - Health & Social Care
  • Rebecca Weston
    University Tutor - Health & Social Care
  • Dr Josephine-Joy Wright
    Senior Lecturer - Child and Adolescent Mental Health  

Nutritional Therapy

Occupational Therapy 

  • Dr Alison Blank
    Course Leader and Senior Lecturer - Occupational Therapy                    
  • Alison Double
    Senior Lecturer - Occupational Therapy 
  • Terri Grant
    Senior Lecturer - Occupational Therapy

Physiotherapy

Social Science/Social Work/Youth & Community

  • Diane Asamoah    
    Senior Lecturer - Health & Social Care
  • Peter Ayling
    Programme Leader and Senior Lecturer - BA (Hons) Social Work
  • Jennifer Dale
    Senior Lecturer and Programme Lead - MA Social Work
  • Mark Farmer
    Senior Lecturer- BA (Hons) Youth and Community Studies
  • Joy Gauci
    Senior Lecturer - MA Social Work and Community Studies (International)
  • Joanne Lewis
    Senior Lecturer and Course Leader Youth and Community
  • Olu Hyde     
    Lecturer
  • Lesley Parish
    Practice Facilitator Social Work  
  • Dr Wayne Richards
    Programme Leader - MA Transformative Practice and PG Cert Working with Offenders
  • Raluca Sarbu
    Senior Lecturer/Programme Leader MA Social Work      
  • Clive Sealey
    Programme Leader – BA (Hons) Applied Social Policy
  • Dr Peter Unwin
    Principal Lecturer and IMPACT Service User and Carer Project
  • Kay Wall
    Senior Lecturer - Social Work Studies        

Paramedic Science

  • Matthew Collett
    Lecturer Practitioner
  • Paul Creed        
    University Tutor - Paramedic Science 
  • Rebecca Denham      
    University Tutor - Paramedic Science 
  • Paula Gardner
    University Tutor - Paramedic Science  
  • Karen Gubbins
    Senior Lecturer   
  • Tom Hancock
    University Tutor - Paramedic Science  
  • Sharon Hardwick 
    Senior Lecturer  
  • Gemma Howlett
    Senior Lecturer - Paramedic Science
  • Mark Odam           
    University Tutor - Paramedic Science 
  • Poppy Valenti
    University Tutor - Paramedic Science   
  • Yuet Wah Patrick
    Lecturer/Practitioner  
  • David Woolford
    Senior Lecturer - Paramedic Science

Physician Associates

  • Johanna Angell
    University Tutor - Physician Associate Programme  
  • Ally Hale
    Sessional Lecturer
  • Neil Howie
    Admissions Tutor and Course Leader - Physician Associate Programme
  • Lorraine Murphy
    Work-based Learning Educational Co-ordinator
  • Adam Ryder
    Senior Lecturer - Physician Associate Programme  
  • Kate Straughton
    Clinical Placement Leader and Senior Lecturer - Physician Associate Programme 

 Department of Nursing and Midwifery

Nursing

Midwifery

Academic Unit of Psychology

Centre for Violence Prevention (CVP)

National Childbirth Trust Team

Association for Dementia Studies staff     

Director

Head of Association for Dementia Studies

  • Gina Dutton - Head of Association for Dementia Studies

Research Team

Education Team

Admin Team

PhD Students

Associate Specialists

Mood Disorders Research Group

PhD Students

Please click here for a list of our current PhD students in the Institute of Health & Society.

The McClelland Centre - City Campus

  • Head of McClelland Centre for Health & Wellbeing, Project Lead Mental Health Strategy
  • Chris Bonell
    Exercise Physiologist
  • Richard Dilworth
    Operations Manager
  • David Hickman
    Clinic Administrator

Academic Support Unit

Julia Mathias 
Academic Support Unit Manager
01905 542234
j.mathias@worc.ac.uk

Esther Dobson
Study Day, Conference & Events Coordinator
01905 542711
e.dobson@worc.ac.uk

Jo Fleet
Study Day, Conference & Events Coordinator
01905 855147
j.fleet@worc.ac.uk

Michelle Jellis
Senior Project Administrator - Research & the Professoriate
01905 542767
michelle.jellis@worc.ac.uk

Rhiannon Jones
Departmental Administrator
01905 85 5480
rhiannon.jones@worc.ac.uk

Lizzie Ludlow
Senior Administrator to Nursing and Midwifery
01905 542856
e.ludlow@worc.ac.uk

Diane Prah 
Departmental Administrator - Nursing & Midwifery    
01905 855334
d.prah@worc.ac.uk

Emma Roper
Departmental Administrator - Psychology
01905 8555246 
e.roper@worc.ac.uk

Deborah Sabbato
Senior Administrator - Business & Workforce Development
01905 855546
d.sabbato@worc.ac.uk

Debbie Shotton
Projects & Finance Administrator
01905 855385
d.shotton@worc.ac.uk

Jacquie Twaits
PA to the Head of the Institute of Health & Society (Jan Quallington)
01905 855282
j.twaits@worc.ac.uk

Work Based Learning Support (WBLS)

Sandra Phillips 
Head of WBLS and Employer Engagement/Team Leader
01905 542201
s.phillips@worc.ac.uk

Lisa Band
WBLS Administrator
01905 542705
l.band@worc.ac.uk

Sarah Davies
WBLS Administrator
01905 542419
s.davies@worc.ac.uk

Deborah Guest
WBLS Administrator
01905 855375
d.guest@worc.ac.uk

Teresa Harrison
WBLS Administrator
01905 542207
t.harrison@worc.ac.uk

Louise Sylvester
Senior WBLS Administrator/Team Leader
01905 855461
l.sylvester@worc.ac.uk

Amy Taylor
WBLS Administrator
01905 855545
amy.taylor@worc.ac.uk

Academic Quality

Debbie Hancock
Senior Quality Administrator/Team Leader
01905 542042
debbie.hancock@worc.ac.uk

Leonie Shuck 
International and Quality Administrator
01905 857513
l.shuck@worc.ac.uk