Graduation Celebrations Mark the Achievements of More Than 3,000 Students

Graduation inside cathedral
Inside Worcester Cathedral during Graduation

The annual autumn graduations will see 12 ceremonies taking place in the beautiful, historic Worcester Cathedral from September 12-14, followed by celebration receptions at the University’s City Campus, in the grounds of the former Worcester Royal Infirmary where the British Medical Association was founded in 1832.

The largest groups of graduates will be entering the health professions including Nursing, Midwifery, Occupational Therapy, Physiotherapy, Physician Associate and Paramedicine. Worcester, with its officially Outstanding teacher training will also, as always, be graduating hundreds of newly qualified teachers, who will provide fresh inspiration and education to the Country’s children and make a major contribution to tackling the acute teacher shortage.

Not one of the 3,269 Worcester graduates has been affected by the much-reported ‘national marking and assessment boycott’.

University of Worcester Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive, Professor David Green CBE DL, said: “We are delighted to be celebrating the achievements of our 2023 graduates. Most of these graduates began their studies during the height of the Covid-19 pandemic, which brought about so much heartache, mental health problems, financial hardship and more. They have shown remarkable resilience and determination to complete their studies. We are very proud of our graduates and all their hard work in earning their degrees, professional qualifications and awards.”

During the week, the University will also confer a number of Honorary Fellowships and Honorary Doctorates, bestowed upon people who have made and are making a major contribution to society, science, the arts and education.

Those receiving University Fellowships are:

  • Kathryn Brunt, CEO of The Rivers CofE Academy Trust
  • Peter Cooper, Executive Principal of Heart of Mercia Multi-Academy Trust
  • Diana Gant, University Governor and former headteacher
  • Beatrice Grant, the Lord Lieutenant for Worcestershire
  • Edward Harley OBE, the Lord Lieutenant of Herefordshire
  • Timothy Key, Executive TV Producer
  • Harry Lonsdale, former President of Worcester Students’ Union
  • Andrew Manning-Cox, distinguished lawyer and the former High Sheriff of Worcestershire
  • Daryl Mitchell, former Worcestershire County Cricket Club captain
  • Kate Sheehan, respected Occupational Therapist

Those receiving Honorary Doctorates are:

  • Jonathan Brew, distinguished lawyer, and Chair of the University’s Law School Advisory Forum
  • Lord Faulkner of Worcester, senior parliamentarian
  • Kirandeep Sahota, award-winning social historian
  • Rachel Sylvester, journalist and award-winning columnist at The Times
  • Dr Jack Whitehead, former President of the British Educational Research Association
  • Professor Alison Young, renowned legal scholar and Professor of Public Law at the University of Cambridge, .

Sir Nicholas Coleridge CBE DL, Chair of the Victoria and Albert Museum, Chair of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Pageant and managing director of Conde Nast Britain for 30 years, will receive both an Honorary Doctorate and a University Fellowship.