Worcester Journalism Students Shortlisted for Midlands Awards


Launched with the aim of recognising future talent in broadcasting, journalism and photography, the awards take place on Thursday (April 21) in Birmingham.

Eighteen pieces of work from Worcester students, ranging from online publications and blogs to political news reporting, entertainment features and exclusives, have been selected.

Claire Wolfe, Head of Journalism at the University, said: "This is fantastic and follows success last year when 11 students were shortlisted with 17 submissions. It reflects well on the students and on the quality of journalism teaching being delivered at Worcester.

"Last year Rebecca Green won the overall Feature Writer of the Year category and Becca Husselbee was highly commended for her fashion blog."

The awards were introduced last year by Birmingham Press Club to mark its 150th anniversary.

Ed James, chairman of Birmingham Press Club, said: "The inaugural awards were very well received but this year entries have more than doubled."

Covering topics such as online innovation, blogs, video journalism, sport, entertainment, humour and investigative journalism, the categories have been chosen to allow media students a real platform to showcase their passion for a particular subject matter.

The Worcester students shortlisted are as follows:

  • Activist Journalism - Hayden Atkins
  • Blogger/Vlogger - Conor Rees, Hayden Atkins, Max Banner, Mike Taylor
  • Entertainment - Conor Rees, Mike Taylor, Shaun Pond
  • Humour - Max Banner, Mike Taylor, Olivia Watkins, Conor Rees
  • Public Affairs - Alexandra Martin, Bethany Sparks, Chelsea James, Laura Peberday, Sophie Moody
  • Scoop - Jack Donohoe
  • Video Journalism - Saeed Hussain