Skip to content
Menu

Meet our Health Experts

The Institute of Health and Society brings together a range of staff with a wealth of expertise drawn from health, social care, nursing, midwifery, psychology and other related backgrounds. The majority of staff have extensive work-based experience and are able to offer a 'real world' view to the educational experience.

Institute of Health & Society

  • Dr Jan Quallington
    Head of the Institute of Health & Society
  • Jacquie Twaits
    PA to Head of the Institute of Health & Society (Jan Quallington)

Associate Heads of Institute

Research

Research Team

  • Dr Rosie Erol
    Research Associate
  • Paul Browning
    Doctoral Research Student
  • Michelle Jellis
    Senior Project Administrator - Research & the Professoriate

Mood Disorders Research Group

Department of Allied Health & Social Sciences (AHASS)

Applied Professional Studies

  • Peter Ayling
    Programme Leader and Senior Lecturer - BA (Hons) Social Work
  • Clare Bennett
    Senior Lecturer 
  • Chris Clarke
    Senior Lecturer - Advanced Clinical Practice
  • Kathy Clarke
    Senior Lecturer
  • Dr Janice Clarke
    Senior Lecturer
  • Deborah Cook
    Senior Lecturer - BSc (Hons) Health Sciences
  • Jennifer Dale
    Senior Lecturer and Programme Lead - MA Social Work
  • Amanda Evans
    Senior Lecturer - Clinical Pharmacology
  • Dr Kerry Gaskin
    Principal Lecturer in Advancing Clinical Practice
  • Joy Gauci
    Senior Lecturer - MA Social Work and Community Studies (International)
  • Emma Innes
    Senior Lecturer - MSc, PG Cert Leadership & Health Care         
  • Dr Tim Kilner
    Senior Lecturer
  • Dr John Leah
    Senior Lecturer and Programme Lead - MSc Public Health 
  • Hazel Luckhurst
    Senior Lecturer - Pre-Registration Nursing
  • Dr Brian Nyatanga
    Senior Lecturer and Lead for Centre for Palliative Care
  • Lesley Parish
    Practice Facilitator Social Work
  • Dr Maxine Pryce-Miller
    Senior Lecturer - International Studies
  • Alison Rushworth
    Senior Lecturer - BSc (Hons) Fundamentals of General Practice Nursing/ Programme Leader for Non-Medical Prescribing
  • Raluca Sarbu
    Senior Lecturer/ Programme Leader MA Social Work
  • Dr Duncan Shrewsbury
    Lecturer in Clinical Education and Primary Care
  • Dr Helen Taylor
    Principal Lecturer - Health Law and Departmental Lead - Quality Assurance and Student Enhancement
  • Dr Peter Unwin
    Senior Lecturer and IMPACT Service User and Carer Project
  • Kay Wall
    Senior Lecturer - Social Work Studies        

Paramedic Science

Department of Nursing and Midwifery

Nursing

Midwifery

Academic Unit of Psychology

National Centre for the Study and Prevention of Violence and Abuse (NCSPVA)

  • Professor Erica Bowen
    Professor of Research in Violence and Abuse
  • Beverley Gilbert
    Senior Lecturer
  • Ruth Jones OBE
    Principal Lecturer
  • Claire Richards
    Senior Lecturer and Course Leader – MA in Professional Management and the Dynamics of Domestic Violence
  • Holly Taylor-Dunn
    Senior Lecturer

National Childbirth Trust Team

Association for Dementia Studies staff     

Director

Head of Association for Dementia Studies

  • Gina Dutton - Head of Association for Dementia Studies

Research Team

Education Team

Admin Team

PhD Students

Associate Specialists

The McClelland Centre - City Campus

  • Head of McClelland Centre for Health & Wellbeing, Project Lead Mental Health Strategy
  • Chris Bonell
    Exercise Physiologist
  • Richard Dilworth
    Operations Manager
  • David Hickman
    Clinic Administrator

Academic Support Unit

Julia Mathias 
Academic Support Unit Manager
01905 542234
j.mathias@worc.ac.uk

Lorien Adey
Departmental Administrator - Allied Health & Social Sciences    
01905 542672
l.adey@worc.ac.uk

Melanie Allcott
Projects & Finance Administrator
01905 855385
m.allcott@worc.ac.uk

Esther Dobson
Study Day, Conference & Events Coordinator
01905 542711
e.dobson@worc.ac.uk

Claire Eccleshall
Senior Administrator - NCSPVA
01905 542729
c.eccleshall@worc.ac.uk

Jo Fleet
Study Day, Conference & Events Coordinator
01905 855147
j.fleet@worc.ac.uk

Nicole Green
Senior Administrator - Nursing & Midwifery
01905 542097
nicole.green@worc.ac.uk

Michelle Jellis
Senior Project Administrator - Research & the Professoriate
01905 542767
michelle.jellis@worc.ac.uk

Lizzie Ludlow
Senior Administrator - Mood Disorders Research Group
01905 542856
e.ludlow@worc.ac.uk

Diane Prah 
Departmental Administrator - Nursing & Midwifery    
01905 855334
d.prah@worc.ac.uk

Emma Roper
Departmental Administrator - Psychology
01905 8555246 
e.roper@worc.ac.uk

Deborah Sabbato
Senior Administrator - Business & Workforce Development
01905 855546
d.sabbato@worc.ac.uk

Debbie Shotton
Projects & Finance Administrator
01905 855385
d.shotton@worc.ac.uk

Dawn Sparg
Departmental Administrator - Allied Health & Social Sciences
01905 855480
d.sparg@worc.ac.uk  

Jacquie Twaits
PA to the Head of the Institute of Health & Society (Jan Quallington)
01905 855282
j.twaits@worc.ac.uk

Work Based Learning Support (WBLS)

Sandra Phillips 
Head of WBLS and Employer Engagement/Team Leader
01905 542201
s.phillips@worc.ac.uk

Lisa Band
WBLS Administrator
01905 542705
l.band@worc.ac.uk

Sarah Davies
WBLS Administrator
01905 542419
s.davies@worc.ac.uk

Deborah Guest
WBLS Administrator
01905 855375
d.guest@worc.ac.uk

Teresa Harrison
WBLS Administrator
01905 542207
t.harrison@worc.ac.uk

Louise Sylvester
Senior WBLS Administrator/Team Leader
01905 855461
l.sylvester@worc.ac.uk

Amy Taylor
WBLS Administrator
01905 855545
amy.taylor@worc.ac.uk

Academic Quality

Debbie Hancock
Senior Quality Administrator/Team Leader
01905 542042
debbie.hancock@worc.ac.uk

Heidi Mills
Departmental Administrator - Quality
01905 542341
h.mills@worc.ac.uk

Leonie Shuck 
International and Quality Administrator
01905 857513
l.shuck@worc.ac.uk